Australia Day Awards Australia Day Awards

Gladstone Regional Council hosts its annual Australia Day Awards and Citizenship Ceremony on the eve of Australia Day to recognise and reward members of the local community who have a consistent record of excellence, have made outstanding achievements in their field, and/or have contributed significantly to the growth and development of sport, community events, arts and cultural life in the region. 

Australia Day Award winners will be announced at a combined citizenship and awards ceremony at the Gladstone Entertainment Convention Centre in Goondoon Street, Gladstone on January 25.

​It is at the discretion of Council as to whether an award is presented in all categories.

Congratulations to our 2018 Australia Day Award nominees:

Citizen of the Year
Nicole Allison
Angela Bannerman
Amber Rodgers
Kevin Watson
Young Citizen of the Year
Adele Bierman
Kailee Butcher
Community Event or Initiative Award
Bella the Brave
Tannum Crab Classic
Community Volunteer Award
Cancer Council Queensland Gladstone Branch
CCQ Relay for Life Volunteer Committee
Loral Jackson
Peter O’Dwyer 
Gassan Sangari 
VMR Round Hill
Arts & Culture Award
Skye Birthisel
Delaney Burke
Leanne Christensen
Michael Reibel
Young Sportsperson Award
Brady Blake
Sophie Duff
Chelsea Fanning
Annamonet Massey
Savannah Maytom
Harry Shuttleworth
Matthew Smith
Sally Vagg      
Regan Yea
Senior Sportsperson Award
Joel Helmstedt

Sports Official Award
Dillon Bartlett
David Lederhose
Wayne (Grom) Mellick
Gary Porteous