Minutes of the

Special Meeting

of the

NORTHERN ALLIANCE OF COUNCILS INC

held at Mercure

Townsville

Monday 30 November 2020



UNITING THE POWER OF THE NORTH

2020.01 Opening of Meeting

Mayor Greg Williamson declared the 2020 Special Meeting of the Northern Alliance of Councils open at **1:28pm**

Attendance & Apologies – as per attendance register

Attendance:

Yellow -not in attendance - departed following workshop/AGM - please confirm

COUNCIL	NAME	VOTING MEMBER		
Banana Shire Council	Mayor Nev Ferrier	No		
Banana Shire Council	Deputy Mayor Colin Semple	No		
Burdekin Shire Council	Mayor Lyn McLaughlin	Yes		
Burdekin Shire Council	Cr Sue Perry	Yes		
Cairns Regional Council	Mayor Bob Manning	Yes		
	Cr Brett Moller (LAWMAC Deputy	Yes		
Cairns Regional Council	Chair)			
Charters Towers Regional	Mayor Frank Beveridge	Yes		
Council				
Charters Towers Regional	Aaron Johansson (CEO)	N/A		
Council				
Charters Towers Regional	Amy Russell – NAOC Secretary	N/A		
Council				
	Mayor Peter Scott (representing	Yes		
Cook Shire Council	TCICA)			
Cook Shire Council	Deputy Mayor Robyn Holmes	Yes		
Douglas Shire Council	Mayor Michael Kerr	Yes		
Hinchinbrook Shire	Mayor Ramon Jayo	Yes		
Council				
Isaac Regional Council	Mayor Anne Baker	Yes		
	Jeff Stewart-Harris (Director	Yes		
Jacob Bogional Council	Planning, Environment &			
Isaac Regional Council	Community Services)	Yes		
Mackay Regional Council	Cr Karen May	Yes		
Mackay Regional Council	Mayor Greg Williamson	N/A		
Mackay Regional Council Mareeba Shire Council	Michael Thomson (CEO)			
	Deputy Mayor Kevin Davies	Yes		
Rockhampton Regional Council	Acting Mayor Neil Fisher	No		
	Mover Johny Hill	Yes		
Townsville City Council	Mayor Jenny Hill Mr Brett Brogan (Director Planning,	162		
Townsville City Council	Environment & Cultural Services)			
Whitsunday Regional	Mayor Andrew Willcox	Yes		
Council	Wayor Andrew Willook	163		
NAME	Company/Organisation			
Darlene Irvine – Executive	FNQ ROC	N/A		
Officer	11101100	14//		
Laura Vidmar – Executive	NQ ROC	N/A		
Officer	144100			
Eleanor Scott - Partner	Holding Redlich	N/A		
Licanor Cook - Latinor	Troising reduion	""		

Apologies:

Burke Shire Council
Carpentaria Shire Council
Cassowary Coast Regional Council
Central Highlands Regional Council
Cloncurry Shire Council
Doomadgee Aboriginal Council
Etheridge Shire Council
Flinders Shire Council
Gladstone Regional Council
Livingstone Shire Council
Mareeba Shire Council
North Burnett Regional Council
Torres Strait Island Council
Joe Veraa – Executive Officer, WBBROC
David McKendry – Executive Officer, GWCoM's



2020.02	Special Resolution
	RENAME THE ASSOCIATION TO BETTER REFLECT THE ALLIANCE OF LOCAL
	GOVERNMENTS ANY MAYORS FROM REGIONAL QUEENSLAND

The Association has made the decision to rename the Association to better reflect the alliance of local government and Mayors from Regional Queensland.

Motion:

That the Association be renamed to: Regional Queensland Council of Mayors Inc

Moved: Mayor Anne Baker Isaac Regional Council

Seconded: Cr Kevin Davies Mareeba Regional Council

CARRIED

2020.03	Special Resolution		
	AMEND THE CONSTITUTION		

In addition, as a result of the name change, resolve to better reflect the Association as follows:

Motion:

The Association amend the Constitution as follows:

- (i) The new name of the Association (Regional Queensland Council of Mayors Inc)
- (ii) Clarifying the current objectives to better align with the refocussed strategic direction of the Association
 - 1) to provide collective representation for the Member Local Governments of Regional Queensland;
 - 2) to advocate for regional infrastructure, economic and social planning;
 - 3) to provide a stronger voice from Regional Queensland to promote awareness and engagement with State and Federal governments to improve access to funding and grants for projects which will benefit Regional Queensland; and
 - 4) to influence State & Federal Elected Members to ensure their policy and legislative positions support Queensland growth.
- (iii) Limiting membership of the Association to local governments in Regional Queensland The Association's membership will consist of individual Local Governments in Regional Queensland and who are accepted as Members of the Association and retain the membership in the manner required by these Rules.
- (iv) Amendments required as a result of the recent legislative amendments to the Association Incorporation Act 1981 to ensure the Constitution is compliant with current legislative requirements.

Moved: Mayor Anne Baker Isaac Regional Council Seconded Mayor Ramon Jayo Hinchinbrook Shire Council

CARRIED

2020.03	General Business

Nil.

2	n	2	n	n	1
Z	u	Z	u	u	4

Close of Special Meeting

There being no further business, President, Mayor Greg Williamson declared the 2020 Northern Alliance of Councils Special Meeting closed at **1:38pm**

President

Date:/...../....../

